Sat Where evrything could of gone wrong.....

Please tell what happened and how it might have been avoided. Names should be ommitted. This forum should help others learn from mistakes that caused or nearly caused a mishap.
Fast Eddy

Sat Where evrything could of gone wrong.....

Post by Fast Eddy »

1 it was a great day to be flying and due to several MISTAKES on my BEHALF, it could of been a disasterious day!~!

1 glider set up improperly
2 harness not put on right.
Hang chekc went right and all seemed right when I reached down to touch my leg loops buckles. They were there.
3 switchy at launch, always remember to run to the end of it. I did and my feet took 2 extra steps at the bottom of the ramp stepping on the boards as I left the ground a second time. [b]Any newer people remember that!~![/b]
4 I am a experienced pilot who should of [b]not made these errors[/b] in the first place. Let alone what was to come. I had planed on racing around with dave teal and seeing if I can get him up to speed for XC.... He had problems and as we talked durning his set up I told him to STOP EVERYTHING. and to start over on his set up and relax.

I twist up the strings on the glider I was flying to tighten the sail a bit more. I DID not notice one was not right. Hooked to batten but not right..The glider had a substantial left turn in it. Nothing I could not manage while flying prone. Or on the down tubes Up behind the bridge. WHERE I had come simi out of the harness and got on the tubes [b]to KNOW MY OPTIONs [/b]
I have one of the original Moyes Contour harness I am flying. I never properly got the leg loops out and connected to my harness. I set my launch postion in a head down and forward postion so It is where I want to be untill I am fully in the harness and can activate the pitch system etc...
Once out and flying I was not able to zip up I had fallen so far down into the harness. Clue 1 toes were packed into the bottom corner of harness.